Indicative is now mParticle Analytics.

What Is HTML 5?

Written by Indicative Team


HTML 5 Defined

HTML 5 is a version of the software solution stack, Hypertext Markup Language, the code that  defines the properties and behaviors of web page content. HTML 5 is the fifth and last version of HTML, which is a World Wide Web Consortium recommendation.

HTML 5 is made up of three types of code:

  • HMTL: which provides the structure
  • Cascading Style Sheets (CSS): which provides the presentation
  • JavaScript: which allows the code to work

There are three organizations that are  in charge of the specification of HTML 5:

  1. Web Hypertext Application Technology Working Group (WHATWG) –  creates and develops the specification
  2. World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) –  delivers the specification.
  3. Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) –  develops the WebSocket API.

The difference between HTML 5 and HTML is that the latest version supports the traditional HTML and XHTML-style syntax and other new features in its markup including: New APIs, XHTML and error handling.

In Data Defined, we help make the complex world of data more accessible by explaining some of the most complex aspects of the field.Click Here for more Data Defined.